Boston, you are my home.

Monday I woke up full of jealously. Jealously of what? Every Patriots Day I wake up thinking “Sara you should have taken today off!” and up to 3:00 on Monday I kept thinking about that…

Well I am sure you have heard about the tragic events that happened Boston during the Marathon.  I was sitting at work and I got a call from my friend Adrian, normally I do not answer calls from friends during work but she rarely can even check her email at work so just instinctively I picked up. In a quite voice she asked “when is the last time you heard from Theresa” (our friend who went into Boston to watch the Marathon). I was like umm I am not sure why? she sounded pissed…..

My thoughts where oh boy, what did Theresa do!? My friend Adrian said “bomb” and “marathon’ and I thought Theresa and/or her friends tried to photo bomb the Marathon, those were my initial thoughts…  Not saying my friend Theresa is a lush and gets drunk and in trouble- because she doesn’t  but my mind couldn’t even imagine something like this happening in BOSTON during the MARATHON…

Cell Phone service was down,  but I still tried to call and text my friend….Nothing.  I had my other friends calling me at work because out of our group of close friends I am probably the one that goes in Boston the most/lives the closest so they were worried about me, and some knew Theresa was going in some where worried about her. Thankfully I am friendly with a lot of her co-workers who were with her and connected to them via Facebook and got the word they were okay.

 BUT she was at the finish line just at 10:30 that morning….

(Picture via my friend Theresa)
Last night I got very little sleep….. 
I guess I felt, empty and numb. I wasn’t even sure what to think as I lied in my bed unable to process what happened.  Awake at 1:30am, wondering how to get my mind to settled down just enough for me to sleep I realized I wanted to change my Facebook picture to a picture of Boston. I know? that’s dumb right? BUT on the quest to find the perfect background picture to my Facebook page started to look at some of the pictures I have taken of Boston over the past few years…

IMG_3464
(This one taken from a Boston beach with Theresa last summer..)

IMG_3461

(Us at the Beach in Boston last summer)

Those are just a few of my favorite, after scrolling through some pictures and reliving how beautiful Boston is the numbness and emptiness faded away and I just felt compassion and strength that Boston will get through this and only become stronger.

You want to know the real crazy feeling? When I see these types of events happen in other cities and I see them going to public events and selling out I think to myself I would never go to that event, I would be so scared something would happen again!

When it happens so close to you, you want to go. I am not sure if its out or pride, anger or the over whelming feeling of wanting to support.  I wish I was going to the Bruins game tomorrow night and even more crazy, I want to try to train for a Marathon in a year. I want to run for the victims and help them raise money to live with their new disabilities….  we will see. I am scared I am not physically able to run it.

Right how I am watching the Red Sox game, the New York crowed singing Sweet Caroline, wow. Thank you New York for your support. 

This entry was posted in Life Lately. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Boston, you are my home.

  1. two birds says:

    keep training, you will be able to do it. there is something about running a marathon, and the crowd and the pride that keeps you going. i'm so happy you and your friends are all ok.

Leave a Reply

