The Irish Cream Punch

So most of my posts at least in the beginning are going to be pretty obvious… You are going to be like Sara! You didn’t know that? Common now… But here this goes…

Today is my Friday! I have tomorrow off because my company has good Friday off. Ill explain more tomorrow why this may be my favorite day of the year.

Anyhoo on Fridays I treat myself to an iced coffee from Starbucks, and that was today’s plan because its “Friday”. I was running late so I opted for the Dunkin Donuts Drive through instead and got my self an iced coffee with Irish cream.

Turns out these guys pack a punch. 
This is the nutritional facts for a Medium Regular coffee.. (with no cream and sugar) 
Calories 0
Calories from Fat 0
Total Fat 0 (g)
Saturated Fat 0 (g)
Trans Fat 0 (g)
Cholesterol 0 (mg)
Sodium 10  (mg)
Total Carb 2 (g)
Fiber 0 (g)
Sugars 0 (g)
Protein: 1 (g)

This is the nutritional facts from a Medium Iced Coffee with Irish Cream …. (with no cream and sugar)

Calories 170  (g)
Calories from Fat 0  (g)
Total Fat 0  (g)
Saturated Fat 0  (g)
Trans Fat 0  (g)
Cholesterol 0 (mg)
Sodium 75 (mg)
Total Carb 40 (g)
Fiber 0 (g)
Sugars 0 (g)
Protein: 4 (g)

I mean there  are worst things for you…. but still annoying that just a few pumps of flavor can add such a punch. BUT these are the things you learn when you start tracking your food. I guess the biggest surprise for me wants so much the calories difference but the carbs. I am really trying to limit the amount of carbs I eat. I guess I am suppose to eat around 130 grams of carbs a day according to the USDA daily recommendations, so this coffee is basically a meal in terms of my carb intake. So pretty much assures me I am going over my carb intake for the day.

                   
Have you tracked any foods where you were surprised by the nutritional facts?  
This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

